Spirit lead me

Hi Everyone!

So as some of you may all know I am spending four months studying abroad in the Netherlands! This has been something I have always wanted to do. To go out and explore the beautiful world that God has created!

A few basic details – I am studying in the city of Zwolle, in the province of Overijssel. I am here with 22 other students from Dordt College, Calvin College, Eastern University, and a university in Germany. We are all taking classes at VIAA – Gereformeerde Hogeschool (a reformed college in Zwolle). All our classes are taught by Dutch professors in English.

I have been in the Netherlands for 10 days. I left the United States on January 7 and landed in Amsterdam on January 8. After landing  in Amsterdam, I met up with the other students from the U.S. that made it to the Netherlands already. We then gathered all of our luggage and boarded the train to Zwolle. We had an hour and ten minute train ride to get to Zwolle. Once we arrived at the train station most of the host families were there to meet us. My host mom was not able to pick me up right away because she had to work. So, I went to Charlene’s (one of the program’s directors) house for the afternoon. Then later that night I meet my host mom and went to her house. I had a much needed shower and just visited with my host mom.

IMG_0260.JPG
This is an overview of Zwolle, from the Peperbus (the tallest building in Zwolle).

This first weekend was a whirlwind. I had my first biking experience around Zwolle, a tour of the city I will be living in for the next four months, and went to a church service in Dutch. Luckily the church that my host mom attends has translations! Then on Monday I started the first of my two week introduction to the Dutch education system. Going to class all day long has been hard and tiring. I am not used to sitting in class all day long. The introduction has included learning “Survival Dutch” (which has been review for me since I took Dutch at Dordt last semester). Much of my time at school as consisted of getting to know everyone in the group, through team building games and reflection on what your role is within the group.

In the ten days I have been in the Netherlands I have been able to experience new things:

  • Biking as my main mode of transportation
  • A new education system
  • Going to church that is in Dutch
  • Finding out how to hard it is to read a Dutch menu

These are just a few things that I have experienced so far. Today I listened to a service from a church in Orange City. The music of the service really hit me. Two songs that were sung were Oceans(Where Feed May Fail) and  No Longer SlavesThe first song that hit me was the No Longer Slaves, it says, “I am no longer a slave to fear, I am a child of God.” I had heard this song for the first time a few weeks before I left for the Netherlands. I remember hearing it and thinking about even though I have fears about this upcoming adventure, I am not a slave to my fear and I will be just fine since I am a Child of God. Now hearing while I am here in the Netherlands I know that whatever I do I will always be a Child of God and my fear has no hold on me as long as I put my trust in God. The second song was  Oceans, the line “Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders,” I know that throughout this semester I will be challenged in my faith. But I look forward to these challenges were I am able to grow deeper in my faith.

Met Liefde (With Love)

Brianna

Now here are a few pictures from my first week in Zwolle!

 

4 thoughts on “Spirit lead me

  1. Brianna, Zwolle is a nice place to be studying. Actually I have been in Zwolle on 2 different occasions. We have relatives there and they graciously entertained us in their home. I am sure you have been to the McDonalds there as well.(we ate there too)
    Our prayer is that you will have a good experience studying in Zwolle, as well as getting to see many other sights and staying safe. Love to you, Arnie and Marge Van Gelder

    Like

Leave a comment